Garrow’s London

Garrow’s law is set in London at the end of the 1700s.  It was quite a time to be alive:  the American Revolutionary War had just ended, leaving thousands of disgruntled British soldiers looking for work; the had been a revolution in France, and back in England there winds of change were starting to blow.  People were starting to talk about rights, and about democracy. The movement to end slavery was getting going, women, like Mary Wollstonecraft, were asserting themselves and talking about the rights of women.  And reform was in the air, people were getting frustrated with the corruption in parliament and were hungry for change.

And all this was being played out in a new public arena.  There had been an explosion of newspapers and journals:

  • In 1770, London has 5 daily papers;
  • In the 1780s, it had 9 dailies, 8 tri-weeklys and 9 weeklys;
  • In the 1790s, it had 14 dailies, 7 tri-weeklys and 2 weeklys.

But whilst there was change on one side, on the other the ruling classes were battening down the hatches and steeling themselves.  They were quite with things as they were thank you very much!

Mark Pallis

8 Responses to Garrow’s London

  1. Hello! This looks really interesting 🙂 Is there any chance of an RSS feed so that I can syndicate it to readers on Livejournal? There’s a large community of 18th Century fans over there who would be interested to read it, I think.

    • garrowslaw says:

      Sure thing. This is my first go at blogging, so I hope that there readers from Live Journal will come and read it on my site too so that I can keep a tally on the numbers. How do I do an RSS feed? Mark

  2. Oh sorry, I didn’t know either, but it turns out that all you have to do is add /feed at the end of the homepage URL. You get something like this
    https://garrowslaw.wordpress.com/feed/
    That just shows the title of whatever has been posted, (I think) so you have to click through to read the whole article as a matter of course.

  3. joyfulmolly says:

    Hello there!

    I hope you’ll get many readers – I know I’ll be one of them!

    Molly

  4. LClair says:

    Hello, You refer to the “American Civil War” in your second sentence above. Here in the US that took place in 1860 thereabouts. Since I am a writer, I’d like to know, was the little spat between the upstart American colonies and Great Britain called something besides the Revolutionary War on the other side of the pond? Inquiring minds want to know.

  5. garrowslaw says:

    Thanks for taking the time to correct me. I meant the Revolutionary War. Books here in the UK tend to use Revolutionary War or War of Independence.

Leave a Reply

