New interview + great new case

Hi everyone,

I am writing to let you know about a really great thing.  A few months ago, I was contacted by some of the children at Sandylands primary school. They were looking into a case (from around Garrow’s period) of two children who were found guilty of stealing and transported to Australia.

They came up to London with their teacher and we spent a very enjoyable morning together in Lincoln’s Inn.  The children asked me some questions about the period and the interview is online on their site.

The site is a really fun thing to have a look at. What I  enjoyed was their re-creation of the trial of young George and Elizabeth.  In addition to all of the actors, they have absolutely fantastic and creative wigs!  Anyway, I think all of the work on the project is fantastic and everyone who took part in it – in front of the camera and behind the scenes – deserves warm congratulations.

Well done Sandylands!

Here is the link

www.cleo.net.uk/resource/youngsons

with best wishes

Mark

4 Responses to New interview + great new case

  1. Cath Ellis says:

    As the great-great-great-great-great Granddaughter of Elizabeth Youngson, it was a real pleasure to see these kids engaging with her and her brother’s story.

  2. Pam Cristiano says:

    I was amazed to discover this project online. The more so because I am a great-great-great Granddaughter of Elizabeth Youngson (+ aunt of Cath!). I have written to the children so they know there was, eventually, a happy ending to Elizabeth’s tale and that she lived to see the births of 8 grandchildren. She died in 1854 so was in fact one of the longest surviving First Fleeters. The wigs are priceless!

  3. Adrienne Ellis says:

    I, too, am part of the ongoing “happy ending” to the story of Elizabeth Youngson. I am her great-great-great Granddaughter, the mother of Cath (who has put one too many “greats” in her comment) and the sister of Pam Cristiano. I was very moved by the childrens’ re-creation of the Youngson story and by the 2010 version of a similar case. I live in Melbourne, Australia but will be visiting Cath in Britain later in the year. I will contact the school….it would be wonderful to visit the children and to talk to them about their project.

  4. Adrienne Ellis says:

    I, too, am part of the ongoing “happy ending” to the story of Elizabeth Youngson. I am her great-great-great granddaughter and the mother of Cath (who has put one too many “greats” in her comment!)I was very moved by the childrens’ re-creation of the Youngson story and by the 2010 version of a similar case.I live in Melbourne, Australia and will be visiting Britain later in the year. I will contact the school and perhaps could visit to talk to the children about
    their project.

Leave a Reply

