Garrow fights with the judge!

Another highlight of the episode today was Garrow fighting with Buller.  We took inspiration from a real case, here it is:

 

Mr Garrow My Lord I Object to the Witness being examined & I take the liberty to state my objection to the Court.

Court You must examine you Witness.

Mr. Garrow I have a right to my Objection.

Court If you do not examine your Witness you shall sit down

Mr. Garrow My Lord I shall not sit down.

Court Then I shall Commit you

Mr. Garrow So your Lordship may

Court Then I certainly will commit you

Mr Garrow There is a point of Law to be argued.

Court there is no point of Law and if there was you are to be assigned to the Court but you are to behave with Decency

Mr Garrow So I do my Lord I have not been used to be interrupted I am here to argue points of Law for the prisoner.

Court You have no right till you are Assigned

Mr. Garrow If you tell me so my Lord I sit down

Court I tell you so.

Mr Garrow I sit down

http://www.oldbaileyonline.org/browse.jsp?id=o17860111-1&div=o17860111-1&terms=garrow|heath|sit|down#highlight

Leave a Reply

